Parents Defend Unschooling

[clearspring_widget title=”Parents Defend Unschooling” wid=”4ae8d36a3102598f” pid=”4bce0b4e343eeb48″ width=”332″ height=”270″ domain=”widgets.clearspring.com”]

What are your thoughts?  Me?  I think I’m in a little bit of shock at the loss of journalism in… well… journalism.  There was a time that journalism was presenting a story idea and then discovering both sides of that idea to give readers (or viewers) a fair and balanced perspective.  By this definition, this clip (and especially the one before it, which had to have been edited heavily) could in no way be viewed as journalism.  The “follow-up questions” were all negative, and there was no information on the statistics (which are easily available on the ‘net) of the benefits of homeschooling and unschooling.  No follow-ups on unschoolers in college or in the workforce.  Just undocumented derogatory comments as to how the interviewer and commenter “couldn’t believe this” and “thought this was crazy”.  Unbelievable!

I read a well-thought out response to these clips, so rather than continuing on my own diatribe, I’m going to refer you to Heather aka Swiss Army Wife.  Read her response, her blog.  Maybe do a few more searches of people knowledgeable and experienced in homeschooling or unschooling.  THEN, please comment, and let me know what you think.

I am embarking on my own homeschool adventure with my 13-year-old stepson, and looking forward to it.  We will not be unschooling (much to my regret, but I defer to my husband’s wishes on this one, as it is our first true foray into homeschooling).  I have several friends who are teachers, am studying to be a teacher myself, but am wholeheartedly in agreement with the unschooling philosophy.  Now let me point out something that was only mentioned once (that I remember)… what they are talking about is NOT unschooling, but RADICAL UNSCHOOLING.  I have no problem with others being in favor of radical unschooling, and I do believe in theory it would work.  Maybe there will be a time when I feel that my youngest children could be raised that way, but my older children have all been in public school, all been exposed to a much different lifestyle, so radical unschooling is not an option for them at this point in our lives.  I do, however, think that I’ve lived my life with the principal of unschooling, as my children were growing up, always taking time for whatever “teachable moment” that I could find, and promoting natural learning and curiousity as a lifestyle. And the fact is, I applaud the parents who have broken the mold and chosen to unschool their children in face of so much opposition.   That’s my personal take on it. 😀

Let me know what you think!

2 Comments

Filed under Education

2 responses to “Parents Defend Unschooling

  1. Hey thanks for link. Good luck on your new home education journey. 🙂

    • You’re quite welcome! Loved your post, and I’m excited to be embarking on this journey… it’s what I wanted for my daughter when she was little (now 18), so better late than never, I guess. 😀

Leave a Reply

