Illinois Trip Day 5

Galesburg, IL to Springfield, MO, Memphis, TN, West Memphis, AR

So, we left the hotel and drove again through Galesburg to get some pictures that we haven’t been able to get to the last day or so.  I was a little sad to leave… have to say, that town grew on me.  🙂  I won’t be terribly sad to move there if the job offer does come through…  😀  I would also LOVE to be close to Tracie, as spending the day with her & her kiddos reminded me how much I miss having girlfriends, especially girlfriends that know your roots.  But, our time was at an end for this trip, so we headed out around 11am (after driving through town for about an hour).

About an hour and a half outside of St. Louis, Tom found that we could go home through Memphis with only an additional hour added to our trip.  I haven’t been since 1996, and I LOVE Memphis, so I was all for it!  Tom’s never been to Memphis, and of course the boys have never been.  I loved Graceland, and Memphis BBQ.  I was already trying to figure out how to get coupons to Graceland.  😀

It wasn’t until about 7:30 that one of my friends told us that it’s flooded in Memphis (through facebook).  Unfortunately, at that point, we were really too far along our way to change course.  We did opt to go a slightly safer route, and stay in West Memphis, Arkansas instead of Memphis, TN proper.  So I’ll do a little research tonight and see how bad the flooding is, what’s open and closed, and whether it’s a possibility or not.

The drive was nice… we took I-55 South out of St. Louis, and travelled South throughout Missouri, then into Arkansas.  I have to say, I’ve traveled a lot by car… most of it as a child, but there’s been a lot of it.  Missouri may not have the coastal cliffs of California, but everywhere throughout Missouri is just a pretty drive.  Gently rolling hills, occasional cliffs, log cabins built into the side of the hills, and lots and lots of green.

Just had another friend tell us to be careful, that she’s in North Little Rock, AR and basically flooded in… unbelievable… guess we should have continued through Missouri, but we’ll be driving during the day, so we’ll be okay.  It’s an adventure, that’s for sure!  🙂  Feeling for all these people flooded out or flooded in, though.  I’ve been there, and that is NO fun!

That’s all for tonight.  I have to catch up on over 100 emails, Facebook, and check on my article sites (since I haven’t written in over a week now).  🙂  Tomorrow will be hopefully Memphis, then on to Dallas.  In Dallas, we’ll pick up our 13-year-old homeschooler, then it’s home on Tuesday.  A full week we’ve been gone… kinda wild!!  🙂  But it’s been a good week.  Tom and I have talked and talked, laughed, and enjoyed new experiences together.  The boys have been to 5 more states… not that they’ll necessarily remember it…LOL… but they have been.  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Trips

Leave a Reply

