What (all) I do… or consolidation vs. diversification

I’ve been thinking a lot about consolidation vs. diversification lately, and wondering which would be better.  🙂  I like diversification, as it opens my possibilities.  But sometimes I feel that my diversification means that I don’t focus enough on one project to really get ahead on that one project.  So I’d love to hear other’s opinions!!!  (Please comment below).  In the meantime, you may be wondering what all I do.  I assume (and yes, I know what that spells, but if you don’t, just check out some past  posts) that you already know I’m a wife, and a homeschooling mom to a large-ish blended family, and a full-time student, so I’ll just touch on my “business interests” for this post.

I’m a local AVON Independent Representative.  This is a new venture for me, and one I’m excited about.  I’ve been in direct sales before, but never with a company that’s been in existence for as long as AVON.  And never one where I personally use the products so frequently. I’m falling in love with the ANEW line!  😀  Oh, and if you’re not local to Victoria, TX, no worries.  You can order through my site and have it shipped direct!!

I’m a writer.  I write freelance for different sources, but focus on my blog (here), and although it’s been neglected lately, my Inked in the South tattoo blog.  I also write for Examiner.com under two different titles (also recently neglected, but I’m about to post several new articles I’ve been working on) under Victoria Tattoo & Piercing Examiner, and Austin Social Networking Examiner.  I’m currently re-working my website (with a local website designer), but I’ll have links to a few other articles of mine online on there once it’s up and running again.

I’m a photographer.  I’m what I’d consider an advanced amateur.  I do take paying gigs (for less than a “professional photographer” charges), if I’m confident that I can do a good job.  I am also really good at re-touching photos (or restoring old photos), so my clients are always happy with my services.  😀  But I continue to practice every chance I get, and I sell landscapes (for large prints, decorations, and such) when I can.  I’ve considered adding pinups/budior, but I need some training and some additional equipment.  In the meantime, I do on-location portraits (including pets), and event photography, in addition to my landscapes.

I also offer temporary staffing to local businesses, and am willing to travel  if it’s at least a week-long job.  Not sure what that means?  Think of temporary office staffing… a receptionist that’s out sick, or a bookkeeper on maternity leave… without the staffing service (and the hefty fee they add on top).  I also offer my services to all kinds of customers, not just office staffing.  I am willing to work in a campground, a retail store, construction site, and more.  I have extensive experience in all kinds of settings (just view my resume on LinkedIn), from a retail cashier to managing large groups of people (perfect for the business owner who needs a vacation, but doesn’t want to shut down their business to take it).

So… that’s what (all) I do.  My problem is that when I’m advertising and/or promoting my services, I really don’t feel that I do justice to them all.  But at the same time, in this economy, I think diversifying is a good thing, at least in theory… just not sure how to put that into practice.  What do you think?  Any recommendations?

Leave a comment

Filed under My Writing, Plans for our Dream Life

Leave a Reply

