This post is about MY plans

So, as the title says, this post is me thinking out loud, basically.  My plans for the future, for trying to find my “dream life”.  I started school last September, but decided with the end of this last term (and some poor results) that it was time to take a break.  Maybe I’ll go back after a short break.  Maybe I won’t.  I’m not sure at this point, and I’m trying to not let that bother me.

I’ve talked about this recently, so I’ll try not to belabor the point… and if it begins to bore you, please feel free to skip ahead.  😀  But I’ve always kind of felt like there was this part of me missing.  Like I was being irresponsible by not choosing a career and sticking with it.  Like there was something wrong with me, that I was 30, 35, 37 and still didn’t “know what I wanted to be when I grew up”.  My parents gave me every opportunity to get an education when I was a teenager.  I chose to start work and then a very short time later, to become a mother and raise my family.  It still continued to haunt me, this one thing that I am supposed to do with my life.  I’d like to say until recently, but to be honest, it’s still pretty ingrained.  I’m trying to change my mind, to be more accepting of myself… it’s liberating, when I can remind myself that this is the way I am.  But in the meantime, I am trying to continue reading Barbara Sher’s books, and work through the steps she outlines to discover my “passion”.  😀

My top three list for this year (things I want to learn) includes:  to get more technical with my photography skills (to learn more), to have more faith in and explore my writing skills, and to get back into theatre (we have a local community theatre, so I’ll start there).  I’d also like to learn to draw.  I feel like there’s this artist underneath my skin… whether I prove to have more innate talent with words, drawing, or photography, I don’t know yet… but I’m trying to dig the artist out and shake her up.  😀  My husband has immense raw talent, and I definitely don’t have that.  But if I have enough talent that if I study it a bit and work at it, maybe I can become a decent artist.  😀  I’d also like to learn to make jewelry, learn to bellydance, learn to sew, and re-learn to crochet, so those are in there somewhere, too.  Not sure where any of that will land me, but those are what I want to learn.  So in the next few months, while I’m undecided about school, I’m going to pursue whatever winds up in my top three list for this year.  I’ll do some research (my forte), hopefully find some classes, groups, and hopefully become more skilled.

In the meantime, I’ve been really working to spread the word about my freelance services.  I’ve recently completed one project, and am being considered for another one.  I’ve been researching government needs for freelancers, as well.  Anyone out there freelance?  What do you find you have the best luck in landing freelance assignments?

2 Comments

Filed under My Writing, Plans for our Dream Life

2 responses to “This post is about MY plans

  1. You said:
    to get more technical with my photography skills (to learn more), to have more faith in and explore my writing skills…. I’d also like to learn to draw. I feel like there’s this artist underneath my skin… I’m trying to dig the artist out and shake her up. My husband has immense raw talent, and I definitely don’t have that. But if I have enough talent that if I study it a bit and work at it, maybe I can become a decent artist. I’d also like to learn to make jewelry, learn to bellydance, learn to sew, and re-learn to crochet, so those are in there somewhere, too.

    Wow, you and I have tons in common! I could have said the same thing! I just quoted from you! Plus I want to learn to knit. 🙂

    • It was so cool finding the Barbara Sher books!! I’ve always had a lot of interests, and it’s nice to finally organize them somewhat into what I can learn to do! I’ve thought about learning to knit, too… LOL! And thanks for the quote! 😀

Leave a Reply

