COEXIST – homeschooling group in Texas?

co_exist_by_c3b4 at Creative Commons

co_exist_by_c3b4 at Creative Commons

I’m not trying to be “cute” with the title.  I’m looking for some sort of group that would fit with the Coexist theme… in Texas.

I was talking with another homeschooling mom online today about the existence of a racial-, sexual orientation-, religious- (or non-religious) tolerant homeschooling group in West Texas.  I don’t know of one, but I’m in South Texas.  It started us thinking that perhaps we could create one.  As Texas is large enough that in most other areas, we’d live in different states (grin), I’m wondering about online with the option of meeting up once a month in different areas of the state.

Her message came in a timely manner, as I had an issue with my 13-year-old last night about him calling someone on TV gay (and meaning it in a derogatory way).  I have become increasingly frustrated with organized religion, and the non-tolerance that is taught by outright methods, and/or by default.  Where I am in my personal spiritual path is not the point here, so I won’t go into it.

The point is that there are others out there who choose not to associate with organized religion, and/or have other tolerance-related issues.  And some of those people are homeschoolers… some of them in Texas.  That’s who I’m looking for here.  Any other Texans out there that would like to be a part of a secular, tolerant homeschool group?  Please feel free to share this blog post with others, and leave me a comment below and we’ll see if we can organize some way for several of us to be there to support each other.

3 Comments

Filed under Education

3 responses to “COEXIST – homeschooling group in Texas?

  1. I am extremely interested !!! We have such diversity in our own blended, large and mixed family that tolerance, grace, and respect for others is taught daily here.

    Have you been to http://www.secularhomeschool.com/ yet ??

    It is just getting fired up pretty good, but there is now a map that is growing, that mostlikely will have some like minded folks.

    By the way we are in the Corpus Christi area, I can’t believe I haven’t found your site till now !

    Jana

    • I am on there… http://www.secularhomeschool.com/members/554-kimmylynn I think that’s a link to my profile. 😀 What’s funny about your question is that this discussion got started on their facebook group. If you’re on FB (and now that I’ve gone to your blog, I can see you are…LOL), go to their page, then discussions, and find the one titled “West Texas”. That’s where we’re talking about it. 😀

      And same goes for me… hadn’t seen your blog until now either!!! 😀 It’s amazing how small (and yet large) the world is out here in cyberspace, isn’t it? 🙂

  2. Yes it is totally amazing. I guess I need to go look on facebook. LOL

Leave a Reply

